Umpire admits error at the Cricket World Cup final

0
Umpire admits of the error at the finals of the cricket world cup
Umpire Kumar Dharmasena admits the error of giving six runs

Cricket World Cup Final Umpire Kumar Dharmasena admitted that he made a crucial mistake in the last over of the Cricket World Cup 2019 final in giving England six overthrows runs instead of five runs.

During the final of the recently-concluded ICC World Cup, onfield umpire Dharmasena awarded the hosts six runs after a throw by Martin Guptill deflected off Ben Stokes’ bat and went to the boundary.

Under Law 19.8, pertaining to an “overthrow or wilful act of fielder”, England’s Ben Stokes should only have been credited for five runs when Martin Guptill’s throw deflected off his bat and to the boundary on the third-to-last ball of their innings against New Zealand at Lord’s.

Martin guptill throw was deflected by Ben stoke's bat
pic credit: icc

Three balls later the scores at 50 overs were tied as England reached 241 all out replying to New Zealand’s 241-8.

Former Sri Lankan Test player Dharmasena told the Sunday Times he did not have the benefit of television replays which showed the batsmen had not crossed.

“We did not have the luxury of TV replays at the ground and I will never regret the decision I made. Besides, the ICC praised me for the decision I made at that time,” Kumar Dharmasena said.

 

Dharmasena said he signalled six after consulting the other match officials. So, I did consult the leg umpire (Erasmus) through the communication system which is heard by all other umpires and the match referee.

Former top umpire Simon Taufel was the first to point out that an error had been made, noting that Stokes shouldn’t have been attributed with having completed the second run.

But Simon Taufel also defended the match umpires, who he said had to make a complicated judgement, and said it would be “unfair” to say the decision altered the outcome of the tournament as it was impossible to now what would have happened in the final balls had five been awarded.

 

Leave a Reply